DIY: Wrap Skirt

The wrap skirt reminds me of long Summer holidays under a tropical heat…
Well, not that we will ever experience such heat here in England, but I have to admit that we’ve had a somewhat decent Summer so far… obviously with some pretty horrid cold and rainy days from time to time, but I’m not complaining!

Wrap skirts are good essential/basic wardrobe piece to have, simply for their versatility and level of comfiness, I’d say.
Paired with heels they can look effortlessly classy or pretty casual if paired with sandals or trainers.

IMG_3436IMG_3422IMG_3496

While visiting my family and friends in France, last month, I picked up a bunch of fabric which hadn’t been used for years and was laying around at my parent’s house. I had already made two top and wanted to have a go at creating a wrap skirt, but didn’t want to spend money on more “expensive” fabric until I had made myΒ first attempt at it.

This design is a twist on the wrap skirt, as you can see from the pictures it doesn’t tie on the side like the classic wrap skirt does.

IMG_3440IMG_3441IMG_3479

Still, I think it turned out pretty great and it’s very comfy and cute.

Now let me show you how I made it!

Material

You will need:

Some fabric (I’m using a midweight cotton fabric)
Scissors, a sewing machine, a loop turner (I did mine by hands and it took ages so I advice, if you can, to get one) and a toggle button, (snap buttons as extra if wanted)

My Wrap Skirt Design

wrap-skirt-tutorial1.jpgDSCN6494.JPGwrap-skirt-tutorial2wrap-skirt-tutorial3.jpg

DSCN6490wrap-skirt-tutorial4wrap-skirt-tutorial5DSCN6491.JPG

wrap-skirt-tutorial6wrap-skirt-tutorial7DSCN6498.JPGwrap-skirt-tutorial8DSCN6495.JPGDSCN6497DSCN6496.JPG

 

And Voila!:D

IMG_3448

If you want it to be more secure, you can add one or two snap buttons on the inside to join the overlap and the underlap and secure them together. I would place them inside where the overlap ends.

But I wore it all day and jumped around on it and it never came undone πŸ™‚

IMG_3509

 

Happy sewing and don’t hesitate to share your creation with me!

—-

PS: This is my first time making one and putting a step by step together of the process, any feedback would be welcome and greatly appreciated!
Please do let me know if you are having difficulties or need more specifications.

—-

-C.

 

3 thoughts on “DIY: Wrap Skirt

  1. Thank you so much for sharing the DIY steps for the wrap skirt! I admire the detail of this tutorial – it is very clear and easy to understand, and I like that it invites the maker to use their own measurements. It has been over a decade since I last sewed a garment for myself, but this tutorial is inspiring me to try this wonderful skirt. I love the cute little toggle variation on the usual ‘wrap around’. Brilliant, and thank you for sharing, Claudia. πŸ™‚ ❀ Happy sewing!

    • Thank you, my dear Shirley! Really happy to know it was easy to follow and that you might give it a go! I’m trying to learn how to knit watching youtube video haha so I can attempt to make a recycled sweater one day! Yours turned out sooo well with the cutest design. Love it!! ❀

Leave a Reply

