My Beauty Routine

Today I wanted to talk about beauty. Not about beauty makeup but things I do to keep a clear and healthy skin.

My routine is rather basic and minimal. I’ve been doing the same routine ever since I could wash, with the exception of introducing coconut oil in the past 5 years.

So this is pretty much what I look like in the morning, no makeup (I never wear makeup apart from lipstick on very few odd occasions), no moisturising, fresh off of bed.

photogrid_1438253724869.jpg

I’ve been lucky and didn’t get any acne problems during puberty. I tend to have few odd spots, which in fact are just small skin irritations that I tend to pick and scratch which then leave small unevennesses in my skin tone. (I know I really need to stop!)

Apart from that, I don’t have any major problems. However, I think doing little to my skin and sticking to a mostly natural based product I’ve managed to minimize unbalances.

photogrid_1443895634276.jpg

My routine is very basic. First I wash up with a mild, gentle soap (preferably paraben and sulfate free) or an organic soap bar and friction my skin with my hands. I then scrub the dead skin with a natural body brush, (I got mine from Body Shop) while my body is lathered in soap.

img_20160225_094941.jpg

I rinse and then rub organic coconut oil all over my wet body and face. I take a quick second rinse and step out the shower. I loosely pat myself dry and lightly rub coconut oil again (just to add a little extra moisture)

I’ve only been using coconut oil for the last 5 years but instantly fell in love with it after the first use. It really does wonders for me! I use it in several ways and will make a post at some point to vent its merits 🙂

img_20160225_095758.jpg

Sometimes I add 5 drops of Tea Tree Oil to my coconut oil before rubbing it in. I do this when I feel my skin is starting to break. Tea tree oil has antibacterial properties which can help with treating breakouts.

img_20160225_095137.jpg

img_20160225_095240.jpg

Once to twice a week, I do a coffee scrub. My partner Tom is a bit of a coffee lover in comparison to me who drinks cheap instant coffee, so I’ve started collecting the leftover brew from his fresh coffee beans, it’s a great and inexpensive way to have a natural homemade scrub.

Note, I do all of the above on both my body and face.

And voila!

-C.

20160202_151853-1.jpg

3 thoughts on “My Beauty Routine

  1. I’m going to start with…you are stunning! And I love your hair! Coconut oil is my go-to. I use it for everything. I enjoy putting it in my smoothies too. Even my pets like it! Everyone needs to see your post to see the benefits of coconut oil! Great post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

